NorCal Spring Cosplay Gathering 2014

So yesterday was the NorCal Spring Cosplay Gathering 2014, one in a line of seasonal cosplay gatherings hosted by photographer Oscar C and cosplayer Bekalou.

The gathering was held in Kelley Park in central San Jose, and as usual turnout was massive, at a record-breaking 550 or so. Cosplayers of various fandoms came out to test and demonstrate their costumes, some using the gathering as a testing ground for their cosplay before going on to fine-tune them for Fanime, which is about 2 1/2 months from now.

Not wanting to bog myself down with female cosplays, which have a long prep time due to me putting on makeup (something I tend to not bother when wearing male cosplays), require me to change at someone else’s house due to parental issues, and both of which need a dry-cleaning anyway, or my Apollo Justice cosplay, which was my initial choice until deciding that hair spikes are a pain in the ass (and I don’t feel like I look good in the cosplay anyway), I fell back on my general-purpose, boring-but-practical cosplay of Persona 3‘s male protagonist (known as Minato Arisato to Western fans).

I was quickly joined by Kelp (as Madoka from Madoka Magica), a good friend of mine that I hadn’t seen in 9 months, as well as a few of her friends, and I spent a good fraction of the gathering with them. I also got to see plenty of other friends, such as my blog colleagues Nate (as Ken Amada, also from Persona 3) and Robbie, and classmate and cosplay photographer Samir.

It seems like I made a good decision to cosplay Minato, as there was a surprisingly large influx of Persona 3 and 4 cosplayers, apparently because of the announcement of several Persona spinoff games being confirmed for Western releases. I got photos with some of them. I didn’t see a lot in the way of Touhou cosplay (Touhou is my top fandom that actually has a cosplay presence at cons)–just two of my friends cosplaying Parsee Mizuhashi and Remilia Scarlet.

In general the gathering was pretty fun–saw various costumes as usual, made a few new friends, and gave myself a chance to relax without constantly worrying about the various problems of my cosplay. I was in a surprisingly good mood for only four hours of sleep–didn’t even doze off at all during the gathering.

After the gathering, a few of us went to Hydration Cafe to get dinner and milk tea, and some of us passed the time discussing careers and how to maximize productivity before parting ways.

I was still feeling particularly good, so I went to bed shortly thereafter and avoided looking at distressing material on the Internet. I also went out of my way to make a new Twitter list, my “day brighteners” list, in case I need to remind myself that not everyone or everything in the world is shit.

My next cosplay event will probably be NorCal Cherry Blossom Festival 2014, but the elimination of cosplay events means my friends will be less motivated to go. If I see a lot of people still expressing interest, I’ll probably go, but if that doesn’t happen, I might just skip and wait until Fanime instead. Either way, see ya, folks.

Leave a Reply

